Stage IV

My sister was diagnosed with Stage IV Cancer last July. When we found out, we were all devastated. However, I can only talk about how it was for myself.

When I first found out that it was Cancer, I was so confused, angry and was desperate for more information. They couldn’t start her chemo straight away because they couldn’t figure out what type of cancer she has. It turns out that it was Oesophageal cancer. Honestly, I have never felt more unintelligent in my life. I had no idea how much I didn’t know about cancer. The type of cancer she has was common to old men who drink and smoke. The statistics of male patients is 1-3% and even less with women her age. They told us that it was terminal and that she only had a few months to live.

At the time, I was a week away from my end of semester exams and 3 weeks away from a trip to China. From the moment I was told of what was happening to her, I knew none of it mattered. And even if they did, I wouldn’t be doing any of it.

My sister is 11 years older than me, We grew up together with our parents overseas, from when I was 1 years old until I was 11. We moved out of our house when I was 13 until I was 17. She raised me, and I have always considered her as my second mother.

It was hard not to cry, or feel angry. I didn’t even know what it was or is that I am angry about, I just felt it. Everything was suddenly so out of focused.

It was the time of my life that I realised, at the age of 21, I knew nothing.

2 thoughts on “Stage IV

Leave a Reply

